Wow, my first “real” blog entry. I have been blogging rather sporadically over on Blogger since around 2007 or 2008, and before that, I had a blog I kept on MySpace, before that site went down the toilet (Thanks, Mr Murdoch!) My MySpace blog was quite good, but it was by no means a “professional” blog, as this is, or at least I intend it to be.

I have been hearing more and more about blogging as a profession, as in, what do you do for a living? I’m a professional blogger. And while I find this to be a silly-sounding job title, one most professional people wouldn’t take seriously, I figure, if I can’t beat ’em, join ’em. So here I am, trying to use my college degree to some extent in an economic recession that refuses to go away.

At least this way, I will be able to create a portfolio of my work and will be able to samples or a link to this blog page to prospective employers who want to know more info about me.

Unfortunately, as this is primarily a professional blog, I can’t spout off on here using bad language, and I shall have to curtail my topics, views, opinions, photos, etc so as not to attract unwanted attention to myself or my blog. Also, since employers may be reading this site, I won’t be able to say whatever I want, which is a shame, since really if I own this web address, I should technically (and/or legally) be able to do whatever the hell I want on it. Oh well, so much for freedom of speech…

But I digress. I would very much like to end this first blog post on a positive note. 2012 is just beginning and with every new year comes new promises of this year will be better than the last, in terms of health, happiness, and prosperity. So let’s raise a glass to 2012, and hope it will be the year I can realize my full potential!

